Christmas in November.

They say Christmas is always in our hearts, but it turns out that Christmas is also always just a regular dumb old road in Coquitlam.

For the record, I took this picture with the sole intention of mocking Christmas Way on Instagram for being early with the holiday cheer, but apparently the mere act of crossing Christmas Way makes your grinchy heart grow three sizes, because by the end of the day I had inexplicably acquired six new Christmas ornaments, three spools of holiday ribbon, a festive candle, several branches of faux winter berries, and an eye-searingly red sweater that reads Merry Christmas, Ya Filthy Animal when all I had intended to do was replace my worn-out suede boots and update my wardrobe for the cooler weather, so I guess the joke was on me.

And I didn’t even get the damn boots.

Merry humbug.

Save

Save

10 thoughts on “Christmas in November.

    • Alas, I’ve already stored them away with the others until I put the tree up December 1st! Sowwy. 😦
      As for color schemes, my go-to is red, green, white, gold, and just a hint of silver. And cute! (Yes, cute is a color if I say it is. Here are some shots from last year as proof.)



      Liked by 1 person

      • Aw I love your little forest animals peeking out from the tree! And nice colour scheme too. Our tree is all kinds of colours as I have a penchant for collecting random trinkets wherever I like them. Plus we have the ones the boys made. If I see Chrissy decorations in October I am totally grinchy about it, (saw them before Halloween this year!) but November is ok. We also wait until December 1st to put up our decorations. Then until approximately February to take them down. I hate taking them down.
        And you’ve just reminded me I need to make myself a Christmas t shirt this year – though I want a “NOW I HAVE A MACHINE GUN HO – HO- HO” one. Hehhheeh.
        Also, how do you embed photos in your comment section? I have a .wordpress.com blog too and I know it’s possible because Christopher did it once but I am stuffed if I can figure out how.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. The sweater sounds brilliant. Ugly Christmas sweaters have become an overdone joke but one that says “Merry Christmas, Ya Filthy Animal” hits the ironic sweet spot.
    Of course I’m also the kind of Grinch who wouldn’t even acknowledge the existence of Christmas Way until late November.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

