The fine art of falling.

fall
verb
1. To ​suddenly go down onto the ​ground or towards the ​ground without ​intending to or by ​accident.Cambridge Dictionaries Online1
2. Gravity, my old friend, we meet again. – The Nut


I am pretty awesome at falling.

I have my figure skating teacher to thank for that, I think. One of her very first lessons to us was that ice is unyielding and unkind to wrists and elbows. If you’re going to fall on something, aim for your ass. It’s cushioned for your convenience.

Perhaps if she’d managed to follow her own advice in the frozen parking lot one day after practice, she could’ve avoided the fractured elbow that left her so very red-faced for the rest of the season.

And perhaps it was that blow to her pride more than anything that drove the lesson home for me. So I became great at falling.

On ice, launching myself in graceful dives onto my posterior when a snagged toe pick promised to send me sprawling.

In sports, curling myself into an efficient impact-resistant ball for easy recovery when the biggest, meatiest person on the field inevitably body-checked me halfway across said field.

But physical falling is only the half of it.

Not to brag, but I’ve always been skilled at falling back every November when Daylight Saving Time finally gives us back that hour it stole in March.

As a seasoned procrastinator, I’m definitely a pro when it comes to falling behind on work.

And if Nutty Hubby’s and my recent 5 year wedding anniversary is any indication, I like to think I did a pretty damn good job of falling in love, too.

Speaking of my husband and I, we just fell out of the sky back into Canada after a week and a half of doing an awful lot of walking around Japan. So if you need me, I’ll be working on perfecting my next act: falling asleep.


Today’s blog post was brought to you by the letter F, the number 9.80665, and the Fulfilling More Than One Possible Definition Of “Vertically Challenged” Challenge, AKA the Blogging A to Z Challenge.

1 “fall” dictionary.cambridge.org. Cambridge Dictionaries Online, 2016. Web. 7 April 2016.

 

3 thoughts on “The fine art of falling.

  1. And, as the late Douglas Adams put it, “The knack of flying is learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss.”
    In my experience that seemed to apply just as much to skating which I always thought was letting the upper part of your body fall forward while the wheels or blades brought the lower part up from behind.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

