Quoth The Nut: Day 1

So the lovely Christina over at The Wordy Rose made the rookie mistake kind gesture of nominating me to participate in the Three Quotes, Three Days challenge despite the fact that I a) am terrible at following rules, and b) don’t normally do the whole “thoughtful” or “profound” thing here because when I do I get in trouble for making people sad.1

SadnessInBlack

But I do enjoy a good quote, so what the heck. Let’s do this anyway. I’m sure we can get through it with a minimum of tears.

The first rule of the Three Quotes, Three Days challenge is you do not talk about the Three Quotes, Three Days challenge.

And now if everyone would please follow me, we’ll head back to 1999 when that joke was funny.

Anyway, Rule #1 is actually to post three quotes in three days, because apparently the rules were penned by Captain Obvious.

The second rule of the Three Quotes, Three Days challenge is you do not talk about the Three Quotes, Three Days challenge.

I’ll stop now.

Rule #2 says to nominate three other bloggers per day to participate in the challenge too. I’ll be taking a pass on this one because it feels chain letter-ish and I always hated those, not to mention I know some of you have already done the challenge, so as my lame nod to Rule #2, just consider yourselves welcome to participate if you feel the pressing need to go on a quoting binge.

Rule #3 is to give a nod to the blogger who nominated you. WAY ahead of you, Rule #3.

So. Them’s the rules. Now what? I guess this is the part where I pull a quote out of my ass.

And today’s lucky winner is…

MitchQuote

Okay, so this first one isn’t exactly Shakespeare.

But I love it, and pretty much everything else Mitch Hedberg ever said, because the man was the king of seeing the world in unexpected ways. He was pure out-of-the-box thinking on crack, and that pretty much describes my brain’s standard methodology right there. Organized tangential reasoning.

The quoted joke in particular reinforces something I’ve believed my entire life: if you want to accomplish something, don’t let the established norm narrow your vision. Standard procedure likes to try and convince you it’s the only way to go, but what in this life is ever truly standard? Be weird. Be wonderful. Blindside a problem with an utterly ridiculous solution if the logical ones aren’t working. Any way (within legal limits, of course) is okay as long as you end up with a result you’re happy with.

And if that result is delicious and covered in frosting, so much the better.


1 I know, I know, many of you also said it was a great piece of writing, but I can’t make fun of the part where you guys actually like my stuff, now can I?

19 thoughts on “Quoth The Nut: Day 1

  1. Mmmmmm…. caaaaaaaake. Be sure to say that in a Homer Simpson voice. Because I just did. OK, I don’t have anything else to add. Oh, I did like the quote. You’re setting the bar high because now the next two quotes had better be super awesome. No pressure or anything…

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I would say you had me at Mitch Hedburg, but really you had me at at the Fight Club reference which, in spite of being overused, is still funny. It’s funny when you use it in spite of the fact that it’s been used by so many others. I guess I can get away with saying that since I’m using the “You had me at…” line that hasn’t been funny since 1996.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve actually never heard of this guy…. (I’m sorry!!) But the quote is wonderful. Can you direct me to one of your favorite shows of his?

    Like

  4. Pingback: Quoth The Nut: Day 2 | Spoken Like A True Nut

  5. Pingback: Quoth The Nut: Day 3 | Spoken Like A True Nut

Leave a Reply

