Chanel, you’ve done it again.

You know, I was starting to think I wasn’t going to have anything to write about this week. I’ve been depressed and work has sucked, and even though Nutty Hubby and I went on a mini-vacation to Whistler last weekend to get away from it all, all that did was make me want to stay in Whistler and never come back.

And then I checked my email.

Oh, Shoppers Drug Mart, you always send me the best things.

You can’t see my face, but I look like a kid in a candy store right now.

As you may remember, I had a grand old time poking fun at Chanel last month around Mother’s Day due to their crystal whiskey decanter Eau Première campaign.

Silly me, I thought that was an easy target. But this? This is shooting fish in a barrel. A giant motherfucking crystal barrel.

Let’s savor the ridiculousness slowly, and with purpose.


It’s Friday night. You, two of your best gal pals and your token black friend all decide to go bowling in your girliest matching midriff-baring outfits. After sweet-talking the pimple-faced teenager at the register into letting you bowl in your Victorian-wannabe boots instead of the pungent and slightly moist rental shoes they make the less attractive people wear, you hit the lanes…and proceed to trash the place by chucking large glass bottles of heavily scented ethanol at more large glass bottles of heavily scented ethanol, cheering as they explode into one big alcoholic slipping hazard hosting a minefield of microscopic crystal shards.

Sounds like a great time, right? Right?

Charlotte, you didn’t say “Right!” with the others. Take the fucking stick out of your ass and try again.

So that’s where I left my stripper pole…

Jesus Christ, Nikki, what have we told you about bringing your trampoline to league nights? Cut that shit out or we won’t be taken seriously.

Remember, kids, always make sure to sew your sweater to your cropped jacket so it can’t escape.

We’re blazing a feminine and elegant trail, here, girls. A feminine and elegant trail with a burst of nostril-twitching citrus scent, and ten frames’ worth of broken glass. We are joyful, we are unexpectedly radiant, and we are fucking fabulous.

Now let’s get out of here. These fumes are making me woozy.


But wait, there’s more! Here’s a bonus video if you’re like me and wanted to see the entire train wreck in motion.

I think my favorite moment is at 0:16-0:17 when poor Token Black thinks she’s getting the first high five and then valiantly tries to save face by clasping her hands together as Little Red gives priority to Blondie in the middle instead.

ChanelSkittles


UPDATE: Oh god, the ad played on TV last night while Nutty Hubby and I were watching Cutthroat Kitchen. IT FOLLOWED ME HOME.

9 thoughts on “Chanel, you’ve done it again.

  1. Wow. Do you ever get the feeling advertising execs pull this kind of shit on purpose just to get people talking? I’m pretty sure they go over these ads with a microscope before they send them to press so someone had to notice the stripper pole impaling Charlotte’s nethers. And they let it go. When Oscar Wilde said “The only thing worse than being talked about is not being talked about” he must have been thinking of advertising.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. When I first saw the picture, I thought that the metal pole was actually the girl’s artificial leg. I was impressed for a moment that they would use an amputee – and then horrified that said amputee would have such a rustic artificial leg. Then I took a second look — never mind.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hahahaha I love you for this. As I was standing in the shopping mall yesterday waiting for the other half and his sister to finish sucking out my will to live, or shopping as most people call it, I saw this video repeatedly on a video screen in front of me.

    Each time it was replayed I saw something ridiculous. Which pretentious up-their-own-arse fool comes up with this crap anyway?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. OK, this probably speaks volumes on my level of maturity, but I looked at the photo before reading any of your text and my interpretation was that the girl on the far left had lifted her leg and ripped off a giant fart. A far so large that it made the hair of the girls behind her rustle in the wind. The darkest skinned girl seems to be leaning forward to get a good whiff. So, yeah… make of that what you will.

    Like

Leave a Reply

